Tenant Evictions in Lafayette, Indiana: A Guide for Landlords

Tenant Evictions in Lafayette, Indiana: A Guide for Landlords

As a landlord, it's never pleasant when you need to evict a tenant. According to recent statistics, landlords file approximately 3.6 million evictions in the United States every year.

If you own property in Lafayette, Indiana, it's vital to understand the current laws in your state.

Read on to discover everything you need to know about tenant evictions in Lafayette, so you're prepared when the time arrives.

Grounds for Tenant Evictions

In most states, the grounds (or reasons) for tenant evictions are the same. As for Indiana eviction laws, there are a few reasons why an eviction would be warranted.

First, if the tenant stops paying rent altogether or stops paying it on time, you're within your legal right to evict them. Next, you can serve a rental eviction if the tenant refuses to leave and remains in the property past the lease terms.

One other reason for an eviction is if the tenant is violating specific terms of the lease. Finally, if the tenant is breaking the law while living on your property, it's grounds for eviction, too.

Serving the Eviction Notice

Indiana eviction laws state there are a few ways a landlord or property management company may serve an eviction notice. First, you can hand the notice directly to the tenant in person.

You may also hand the notice to "a person of suitable age and discretion" at the property. However, the notice must also be mailed by certified or registered mail with a return receipt in this case.

Finally, landlords may post the notice at a visible place on the premises. This can be on the entry door or a front window. You must also mail the notice by registered mail with a return receipt, even if you posted it somewhere obvious.

Notice Types

In the state of Indiana, tenants who are late on paying the rent may receive a 10-Day Notice to Quit. This type of eviction gives the tenant a total of 10 days to pay their balance, or they must move out.

Tenants who are on a month-to-month lease or who have no lease may receive a 30-Day Notice to Vacate. This notice terminates the tenancy and gives the tenant 30 days to move out of the property.

If a tenant violates the law while living on the property, landlords can serve a 45-Day Notice to Vacate. This means the tenant has 45 days to move out.

Filing in Court

Indiana landlords must also file an official complaint with their local small claims, municipal, superior, or circuit court. The filing costs will vary depending on the court type.

Most court fees range from around $86 to $150. Once the complaint is filed, the tenant will receive a summons from the court within a few days.

Know Your Rights

Tenant evictions aren't fun, but they can be stress-free if you know the law. Follow the most current Indiana eviction laws so you're on top of the situation if or when it arises.

If you need help with your property management goals, contact PMI Lafayette today!